Media Release: Ayr Racecourse launches Ladies Day competition at Scottish Grand National


AYE Racecourse’s famous Ladies Competition launches early this year with Best Dressed Ladies at the Coral Scottish Grand National Saturday on 16 April being given a chance to win coins for the first time.

And to celebrate the launch Ayr staged a very unusual ‘race’ featuring a couple of Kerr & Smith fibreglass horses, the fabulous Vauxhall Corsa Limited Edition which is first prize at this year’s Ladies Day competition and Girvan girl Amy Gould (pictured above).

Ladies attending the Coral Scottish Grand National on Saturday 16 April will have the chance to win a place in Ladies Day Final at Ayr in September, and the car seen attempting to ‘jump’ the fence is the first prize that day – the superb Vauxhall Corsa Limited Edition from Kerr & Smith.

The runner up will receive a fabulous holiday – four nights in Dubai in four star accommodation with flights direct from Glasgow with Emirates Airlines courtesy of Stewart Travel.

Ladies who are awarded a coin for on 16 April will go forward to Ladies Day Final at William Hill (Ayr) Gold Cup Ladies Day on Friday 16 September when a total of 27 ladies who have won coins at various Ayr race meetings over the year will draw a horse running in the William Hill (Ayr) Gold Cup. The lady who picks the winning horse drives off in the car.

The events where ladies can win a coin are:

• Saints and Sinners Racenight Friday 17 June
• Scottish Sun Racenight Saturday 18 June
• Champagne GH Mumm Ladies Night Saturday 6 August
• Opening Day William Hill (Ayr) Gold Cup Festival Thursday 15 September
• William Hill (Ayr) Gold Cup Ladies Day Final Friday 16 September

Ayr Racecourse marketing manager, Lindsey Smith, commented: “Our Ladies Day competition in renowned through racing, and we are delighted to have the backing of Kerr & Smith as sponsors for the fourth year running.

“This year’s prize is absolutely stunning and we decided to launch early this year so that ladies attending the Coral Scottish Grand National would have the chance to win a coin and secure a place at Ladies Day Final.”

Jim Smith of Kerr & Smith, who have garages in Cumnock, Ayr and Glasgow, added: “It is a special day to launch a very special competition. I am delighted to be associated with Ladies Day for the fourth successive year and I am looking forward to the launch on Coral Scottish Grand National Saturday.”

The Vauxhall Corsa Limited Edition is a three-door hatchback with alloy wheels and many extras, and as Jim said: “A fitting prize for the winner of Ayr Ladies Day final.”


For further information please contact Iain Ferguson on 07795-565691, or visit www.ayr-racecourse.co.uk

Ayr Racecourse and the associated Western House Hotel are founder members of The Elite Ayrshire Business Circle.


The Elite Ayrshire Business Circle is an association founded in 2007 by some of the top companies in Ayrshire.

Its purpose is to publicise its members, and to celebrate and promote the wealth and rich diversity of entrepreneurial talent and business excellence that abounds here within the county boundaries of Ayrshire.

Members include the Clydesdale Bank, Ayr Racecourse, Western House Hotel, Turnberry Golf Resort and South Ayrshire Council. Member company activities include broadcasting, building and construction, architectural practice, estate agency and land management, chartered accountancy, insurance broking, legal services, golf club management, marketing services and brand creation, web design and public relations consultancy.

Frazer Coogans Commercial Solicitors senior partner Norman Geddes is executive chair of the Elite Ayrshire Business Circle, and managing director is public relations consultancy Fame Publicity Services proprietor Murdoch MacDonald.

Founder members of the Elite Ayrshire Business Circle:

South Ayrshire Council http://www.south-ayrshire.gov.uk
Clydesdale Bank http://www.cbonline.co.uk
Turnberry Hotel and Golf Resort http://www.turnberry.co.uk
Ayr Racecourse http://www.ayr-racecourse.co.uk
Western House Hotel http://www.westernhousehotel.co.uk
CKD Galbraith Property Consultants http://www.ckdgalbraith.co.uk
Frazer Coogans Solicitors http://www.frazercoogans.co.uk
Accident & Injury Claims Centre http://www.accidentclaims.com
MacKay Corporate Insurance Brokers http://www.mackaycorporate-brokers.com
Donald Ross Estate Agents: http://www.donaldross.co.uk
Westgale Ltd Building Contractors http://www.westgale.co.uk
Sinclair Scott Chartered Accountants http://www.sinclairscott.com
Paligap Creative Agency http://www.paligap.com
ARP Lorimer & Associates Architects http://www.arpl.co.uk
JB Management – Training Providers http://www.jb-management.com
Brunston Castle Golf Club http://www.brunstoncastle.co.uk
Visimetrics http://www.visimetrics.com
Fouters Restaurant http://www.fouters.co.uk
Christie Financial Planning Ltd http://www.christiefp.com
Allison Lightbody Waddell Chartered Surveyors http://www.alwsurveyors.com
Kestrel Press http://www.kestrelpress.com
Fame Publicity Services Public Relations Consultancy http://www.famepublicity.co.uk
West Sound Radio http://www.westsound.co.uk
Easton Property
Easton Kitchens & Bathrooms

For further information about The Elite Ayrshire Business Circle and to apply for membership, e-mail eliteayrshire@gmail.com

Website: http://www.eliteayrshire.com

MEDIA RELEASE posted by Fame Publicity Services. You too can post media releases (aka press releases) on allmediascotland.com. For more information, email here.

Contact: Murdoch MacDonald
Phone: 01292 281498
Email: famepublicity@aol.com
Website: http://www.AyrshireScotlandBusinessNews.com