Media Release: Can Merigo win Scottish Grand National again at Ayr Racecourse?


MERIGO, the first Scotland-trained horse to win the Coral Scottish Grand National for 28 years when it triumphed at Ayr Racecourse last April, will defend his crown at the Craigie track next week.

[Pictured: Merigo, last year’s Scottish Grand National winner (in green colours with yellow sash) on his way to victory at Ayr Racecourse.]

The Andrew Parker-trained, Raymond Anderson Green-owned horse had been expected to run in Saturday’s Grand National at Aintree, but at the five-day declaration stage it seemed unlikely Merigo would make the cut for the John Smith’s race.

But Aintree’s loss should be Ayr’s gain and the front running, bold jumper could well emulate last year’s success and go in again come Saturday.

Others in with a chance in the £180,000 race include ante-post favourite and Cheltenham National Hunt chase winner, Chicago Grey, from Gordon Elliott’s Irish yard, David Pipe’s Midlands Grand National winner, Minella Four Star, the 2008 winner, Iris de Balme, and Tim Vaughan’s Beshabar.

The main support race on Saturday’s card is the Isle of Skye Blended Whisky Scottish Champion Hurdle, and leading entries here include Nicky Henderson’s Eradicate, last year’s winner, Overturn, Paul Nicholls’ pair, Celestial Halo and Current Event, and Michael Scudamore’s Gloucester.

The going at the track is currently good, and the team at Ayr will water if necessary to maintain the ground conditions.

Discounts on advance ticket sales remain in place until Saturday at 4.00pm and for further information contact 01292 264179 or go online at www.ayr-racecourse.co.uk

For further information please contact Iain Ferguson on 07795 565691.

Ayr Racecourse and the associated Western House Hotel are founder members of The Elite Ayrshire Business Circle.


The Elite Ayrshire Business Circle is an association founded in 2007 by some of the top companies in Ayrshire.

Its purpose is to publicise its members, and to celebrate and promote the wealth and rich diversity of entrepreneurial talent and business excellence that abounds here within the county boundaries of Ayrshire.

Members include the Clydesdale Bank, Ayr Racecourse, Western House Hotel, Turnberry Golf Resort and South Ayrshire Council. Member company activities include broadcasting, building and construction, architectural practice, estate agency and land management, chartered accountancy, insurance broking, legal services, golf club management, marketing services and brand creation, web design and public relations consultancy.

Frazer Coogans Commercial Solicitors senior partner, Norman Geddes, is executive chair of the Elite Ayrshire Business Circle, and managing director is public relations consultancy, Fame Publicity Services proprietor Murdoch MacDonald.

Founder members of the Elite Ayrshire Business Circle:

South Ayrshire Council http://www.south-ayrshire.gov.uk
Clydesdale Bank http://www.cbonline.co.uk
Turnberry Hotel and Golf Resort http://www.turnberry.co.uk
Ayr Racecourse http://www.ayr-racecourse.co.uk
Western House Hotel http://www.westernhousehotel.co.uk
CKD Galbraith Property Consultants http://www.ckdgalbraith.co.uk
Frazer Coogans Solicitors http://www.frazercoogans.co.uk
Accident & Injury Claims Centre http://www.accidentclaims.com
MacKay Corporate Insurance Brokers http://www.mackaycorporate-brokers.com
Donald Ross Estate Agents: http://www.donaldross.co.uk
Westgale Ltd Building Contractors http://www.westgale.co.uk
Sinclair Scott Chartered Accountants http://www.sinclairscott.com
Paligap Creative Agency http://www.paligap.com
ARP Lorimer & Associates Architects http://www.arpl.co.uk
JB Management – Training Providers http://www.jb-management.com
Brunston Castle Golf Club http://www.brunstoncastle.co.uk
Visimetrics http://www.visimetrics.com
Fouters Restaurant http://www.fouters.co.uk
Christie Financial Planning Ltd http://www.christiefp.com
Allison Lightbody Waddell Chartered Surveyors http://www.alwsurveyors.com
Kestrel Press http://www.kestrelpress.com
Fame Publicity Services Public Relations Consultancy http://www.famepublicity.co.uk
West Sound Radio http://www.westsound.co.uk
Easton Property
Easton Kitchens & Bathrooms

For further information about The Elite Ayrshire Business Circle and to apply for membership, e-mail eliteayrshire@gmail.com

Website: http://www.eliteayrshire.com

MEDIA RELEASE posted by Fame Publicity Services. You too can post media releases (aka press releases) on allmediascotland.com. For more information, email here.


Contact: Murdoch MacDonald
Phone: 01292 281498
Email: famepublicity@aol.com
Website: http://www.AyrshireScotlandBusinessNews.com