Media Release: Scottish Six Days Trial – results – day one – Brown and Lampkin share initial lead


GAS Gas teammates, Dougie Lampkin and Michael Brown, share the lead at the end of day one (Monday 2 May) of the 2011 Scottish Six Days Trial (SSDT) after a glorious opening to the centenary edition of this world-famous event.

Both Lampkin and Brown completed the first of six days without any loss of marks having ridden the initial 30 observed sections that took them on a 58-mile tour of the Scottish Highlands in an overall time limit of just over seven hours.

Whilst conditions out on the moors were as dry as they have ever been, the lack of water over the winter months had left the boulders green and greasy.

Uninterrupted sunshine shone throughout the day as the 276 competitors took their first step towards a week of riding

The initial group of four sections at Leanachen proved to be a tough opening test with the second hazard being particularly difficult and taking many early marks from most of the field. Previous SSDT winner, Graham Jarvis – Montesa, and last year’s victor, Alexz Wigg – Sherco, were to record two exceptional cleans here despite running close to the front of the entry when conditions were at their worst and most slippery.

This was to signal the start of a strong day for Jarvis, who last won this event back in 2006 and who has been absent from the SSDT in more recent years, his loss of a single mark putting him in fourth spot after the first day.

In contrast, Wigg did not make the best start to his title defence losing seven marks on observation including one five, leaving him outside the top ten.

Ian Austermuhle – Beta once  again confirmed his liking for this unique event by slotting into third spot on one mark. 2007 winner, James Dabill – Beta, got his campaign underway with three single dabs to complete the current top five.

Typically local rider, Gary MacDonald – Gas Gas, made a good start to the week losing just four marks to take sixth position at this early stage, his performance was matched by John Crinson – Beta who was perhaps the only surprise at the sharp end of the leader board.

SSDT regular Ben Hemingway – Beta, who was third in 2010, sits on five marks with Ross Danby – Gas Gas to hold eighth and ninth place respectively, leaving Jack Challoner – Beta to round out the top ten on six marks.

Emma Bristow – Ossa currently heads the Women’s battle on thirty one marks, which puts her just outside the top 60 in the overall results.

Whilst in the newcomers category it is Josh Brain – Gas Gas from the Isle of Man who has taken the first blood, his score of thirteen marks lost earned him a place within the top 25 of the general classification.

Day one –
Daily positions / scores

1 – Michael Brown – Gas Gas – 0
2 – Dougie Lampkin – Gas Gas – 0
3 – Ian Austermuhle – Beta – 1
4 – Graham Jarvis – Montesa 1
5 – James Dabill – Beta – 3
6 –  Gary MacDonald – Gas Gas – 4
7 – John Crinson – Beta – 4
8 – Ben Hemingway – Beta – 5
9 – Ross Danby – Gas Gas – 5
10 – Jack Challoner – Beta – 6
11 – Joe Baker – Scorpa – 6
12 –  Alexz Wigg  -Sherco – 7
13 – Tom Sagar – Montesa – 8
14 – Dan Thorpe – Gas Gas – 9
15 – James Lampkin – Beta – 9

SSDT Image Service

High Resolution Images and results from each day of the event can be found on our ftp server – details as listed below – these will be uploaded on a daily basis.

User: anonymous
Password: (not required)
Folder: SSDT

Marking its centenary, the 2011 Scottish Six Days Trial will take place throughout Lochaber, The Outdoor Capital of the UK, in the north west Highlands between Monday 2nd and Saturday 7th May – for more details please visit


Media Contact:
Paddy Cuthbert – Podge Publicity – M: 07968 699636 / E:
Notes to Editors:

Funders, sponsors and supporters
Event Scotland –
Highland Council –

Putoline Oil –
Lift Control –
Birkett MotoSport Ltd –
John Lee Motorcycles –
Off Road Moto –
Thistle Access –
Highland Leisure Sport –
Talon Engineering –
Oximoto –

Motorcycle Trials

The sport of motorcycle trials is a test of riding skill over observed sections where the winner is determined by skill alone. When competitors ride each of the 30 testing sections every day their feet must remain on the footrests of the bike.

They must negotiate steep gullies, slippery rock steps, rocky streams and boulder-strewn gorges. Sections vary in length and severity, and riders are penalised if they put their feet down to help them ride the section, and more so if they fail to negotiate the section in its entirety.

The Scottish Six Days Trial has the additional test of reliability over long distances, with riders completing up to 100 miles each day over a combination of rough moorland, rocky tracks and public roads; designed to challenge the ability, experience, strength and stamina of each rider and the reliability of the bike.

There is also a set time within which each day’s route must be completed.

100 years of the Scottish Six Days Trial

The event actually originated as a five-day reliability trial back in July 1909, before being extended to a six-day competition a year later.

However, the start of the Scottish Six Days Trial (SSDT) proper as organised by the then newly formed Edinburgh and District Motor Club began in 1911.

In those early years, the trial started and finished in Edinburgh with the route taking the riders to John O’Groats and back over the course of the week.

Fort William was introduced as the hub for the event in 1938, although the start and finish remained in Edinburgh, which continued to be the case until all links with the Scottish city were cut in 1977.

Today the SSDT consists of six different daily routes that total approximately 500 miles, which begin and end in Fort William each day.

The Edinburgh and District Motor Club will once again be at the helm of this fantastic competition and will be responsible for upholding an event where club riders and the world’s best compete together over the same course that will include 30 boulder-strewn sections on each of the six days.

For more information on The Scottish Six Days Trial go to:

Previous winners of the Scottish Six Days – 1972-2010

2010 – Alexz Wigg – Beta  2009 – Dougie Lampkin – Beta  2008 – Dougie Lampkin – Beta  2007 – James Dabill – Montesa  2006 – Graham Jarvis – Sherco  2005 – Sam Connor – Sherco  2004 – Graham Jarvis – Sherco  2003 – Joan Pons – Sherco  2002 – Amos Bilbao- Montesa  2001- Cancelled – Foot + Mouth  2000 – Steve Colley – Gas Gas  1999 – Graham Jarvis – Bultaco  1998 – Graham Jarvis – Scorpa  1997 – Steve Colley – Gas Gas  1996 – Dougie Lampkin – Beta  1995 – Dougie Lampkin – Beta  1994 – Dougie Lampkin – Beta  1993 – Steve Colley – Beta  1992 – Steve Colley – Beta  1991 – Steve Saunders – Beta  1990 – Steve Saunders – Beta  1989 – Steve Saunders – Fantic  1988 – Steve Saunders – Fantic  1987 – Jordi Tarres – Beta  1986 – Thierry Michaud – Fantic  1985 – Thierry Michaud – Fantic   1984 – Thierry Michaud – Fantic  1983 – Toni Gorgot – Montesa  1982 – Bernie Schreiber – SWM  1981 – Gilles Burgat – SWM  1980 – Yrjo Vesterinen – Montesa  1979 – Malcolm Rathmell – Montesa  1978 – Martin Lampkin – Bultaco  1977 – Martin Lampkin – Bultac  1976 – Martin Lampkin – Bultac  1975 – Mick Andrews – Yamaha  1974 – Mick Andrews – Yamah  1973 – Malcolm Rathmell – Bultac  1972 – Mick Andrews – Ossa

MEDIA RELEASE posted by Podge Publicity. You too can post media releases (aka press releases) on For more information, email here.

Contact: Paddy Cuthbert
Phone: 07968699636