Media Release: Record number of votes cast for Trad Music Awards 2006

THE fourth Trad Music Awards, to be held this Saturday (2nd December 2006) at the Nevis Centre, Fort William has received more than 70,000 public votes for the 16 awards. This is a 10,000 increase on last year.

YOU too can post a media release on For more information, email here.

“The number of votes that have been cast is incredible,” says organiser Simon Thoumire. “The internet has enabled us to receive votes from all over the world including countries such as USA, New Zealand, Canada, Russia and Argentina. There’s been a substantial increase in the number of votes from South Africa, not just over the internet but postal votes too. Four years ago when these awards started, I couldn’t have imagined this sort of public support, it goes to show the continuing popularity of Scottish music, here and all over the world.” Voting was conducted by postal ballot and online voting in conjunction with BBC Scotland’s Celtic Roots website (

As well as the awards there will also be presentations to the following performers who are to be inducted into the Hall of Fame, which was created last year.

The Hall of Fame inductees are:

Aly Bain MBE
Kenna Campbell
Jock Duncan
Fergie MacDonald
Buddy McMaster
Donald MacPherson
Jeannie Robertson MBE
Sir Jimmy Shand MBE

Robbie Shepherd MBE is being awarded the Hamish Henderson Services to Traditional Music Award, an award which means he too will be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

The winners of the other 16 categories (shortlist attached) will be announced during the ceremony, which will also comprise live music from many of last year’s winners. Performers include Peatbog Faeries, Julie Fowlis, Gordon Duncan Tribute (with Stuart Cassells), Shona Mooney Band, Gordon Shand Dance Band, Ceol Mor, Lori Watson 3, Feis Lochaber, TMSA 40th Celebrations and Jim Reid. This year will see a new award – The Strathspey & Reel Society of the Year.

The Awards will this year, for the first time, include other events throughout the weekend as well as the ceremony on Saturday night. These include a live recording of Robbie Shepherd’s Take The Floor and a live broadcast of Reel Session for BBC Radio Scotland. During the day on Saturday 2nd December there will be a series of workshops and sessions. There will also be a Trad Music Awards Club at the Alexandria Hotel.

The Trad Music Awards will be presented by Mary Ann Kennedy and Stuart Cassells.

For further information contact:

Fiona Duff/Natalie Biggs

Duff Publicity

0131 558 1199



Contact: Fiona Duff/Natalie Biggs
Phone: 0131 558 1199