Scots quartet contending for commercial radio titles

FOUR Scottish stations have been shortlisted for awards celebrating the best of commercial radio.

Northsound 1, Central FM, Radio Forth’s Boogie and Jill, and Real Radio Scotland’s Gavin Bruce and Jay Crawford are each in the running for an Arquiva Commercial Radio Award.

Northsound 1 has been shortlisted in the Commercial Radio Station of the Year (with a total survey area of less than 300,000) category, while Boogie and Jill are contenders for the Commercial Radio Presenter(s) of the Year title.

Real Radio Scotland’s nomination is in the Commercial Radio Marketing category, while Central FM is in the running for Local Sales Team of the Year .

The winners will be announced on the seventh of next month.

The full shortlist reads:

Commercial radio marketing award

Stuart Robinson – Citybeat
Julie Halford, Melanie Wills and Riah Matthews – Heart 106
Gavin Bruce and Jay Crawford – Real Radio Scotland

National sales team of the year

Bauer Advertising
Virgin Radio

Local sales team of the year

Central FM
GWR Wiltshire
Orchard FM

Commercial radio station of the year (with a total survey area of less than 300,000)

Northsound 1
Star Radio Cambridge
97.2 Stray FM

Commercial radio station of the year (total survey area between 300,000 and one million)

Beacon Radio (West Midlands)
GWR Bristol
Lincs FM

Commercial radio station of the year (total survey area more than one million)

Classic FM
Magic 105.4
Xfm Manchester

Commercial radio programmer of the year

Paul Andrew – GWR Bristol
Andy Roberts – Kiss 100
Matt Whyatt – Xfm Manchester

Commercial radio presentation newcomer(s) of the year

Chris Wise – 107.4 The Quay
Hywel Evans and Jamie Atherton – 97.4 Rock FM
Rhys and Eggsy – Xfm South Wales

Commercial radio presenter(s) of the year

Boogie and Jill – 97.3 Forth One
Emma B – Heart 106.2
Jo and Twiggy – Trent FM

Commercial radio station sound award

James Stodd, Arden Hanley and Dan Riedo – Capital 95.8
Matt Robinson and GMG Group Imaging Team
talkSPORT Creative

Commercial radio news award

Nomia Iqbal and Katie Collins – 107.6 Juice FM
97.4 Rock FM News Team
Virgin Radio News Team

Commercial radio programme or feature of the year

‘Gun Crime’- Century Radio 105.4
‘The Rehab’ – Kiss Network
‘V Festival 2007′ – Virgin Radio

Commercial radio station creative award

Andrew Fraser, Jessica Smith and Mark Aldred – Kiss 105-108
Tom Turner and Sharon Dennis – Metro Radio
Andy Griffiths and Mike Doyle – 102.1 Swansea Bay Radio

Commercial radio technical innovation award

myclassicfm – Classic FM
100.7 Heart fm Multimedia – 100.7 Heart fm
Juicetube – 107.6 Juice FM

Commercial radio digital station of the year

Heat Radio
The Hits

Commercial radio social action initiative award

Bauer Radio – For the Kids Day
CFM – Robbie’s Runners
Severn Sound – The Floods 2007

Schools radio award (in association with Vision Charity)

Maxine Bradley – King Edward VI School, Morpeth
Ringwood School in Hampshire
Becky Hardesty – Royal National College for the Blind