Voting begins for ‘TV channel of the year’ awards

AN annual competition allowing members of the public to vote for their favourite television channel has ‘opened for business’.

Run by the MediaGuardian Edinburgh International Television Festival, the awards cover both terrestrial and non-terrestrial channels. There are also favourite programme categories, with voting open from today and closing on the 22nd.

BBC Three won the Non-Terrestrial category last year, with ITV2 and BBC Four taking the honours in 2007 and 2006, respectively.

The Terrestrial award was won by BBC One last year (as it had done in 2007) with Channel 4 taking the title in 2006.

Go to