Sports Journalism Shortlisting for Wilson

A freelance writer with The Herald and Sunday Herald newspapers has been shortlisted in the annual British Sports Journalism Awards.

Richard Wilson has been nominated in the Regional Sports Writer category is up against five other hopefuls.

The author of a book recently published about football's the Old Firm, Wilson was shortlisted two years ago, to lose out to then The Scotsman freelancer, Mike Aitken.

Wilson's book is titled ‘Inside the Divide – One City, Two Teams: The Old Firm’.

The shortlist reads:

Young Sports Writer – The Ian Wooldridge Trophy

Julian Bennetts (Hayters)

Alex Kay (Daily Mail)

Jonathan Liew (Telegraph)

Jack Pitt-Brooke (Independent)

Laura Williamson (Daily Mail)

Sports News Reporter

Neil Ashton (Daily Mail)

Robert Beasley (The Sun)

David Conn (The Guardian)

Nick Harris (

Paul Kelso (Telegraph)

Martyn Ziegler (Press Association)

Sports Scoop

Manchester City CEO’s emails – Shaun Custis (The Sun)

Football match fixing – Paul Kelso (Telegraph)

English rugby’s World Cup reports – Mark Souster (The Times)

Rugby league betting scandal – Geoff Sweet (The Sun)

First interview with Stan Kroenke – Jeremy Wilson (Telegraph)

Bribes paid to FIFA officials – Martyn Ziegler (Press Association)

Sports Feature Writer

Simon Briggs (Telegraph)

Patrick Collins (Mail on Sunday)

Donald McRae (The Guardian)

Owen Slot (The Times)

Matthew Syed (The Times)

Specialist Correspondent

Paul Ackford (The Sunday Telegraph)

Mike Atherton (The Times)

Matthew Lawton (Daily Mail)

Mark Souster (The Times)

Daniel Taylor (The Guardian)

Henry Winter (Telegraph)

Sports Interviewer

Matt Lawton (Daily Mail)

Donald McRae (The Guardian)

Martin Samuel (Daily Mail)

Owen Slot (The Times)

Matthew Syed (The Times)

Brian Viner (freelance)

Sports Columnist

Mike Atherton (The Times)

Simon Barnes (The Times)

Patrick Collins (Mail on Sunday)

Oliver Holt (Daily Mirror)

James Lawton (The Independent)

Martin Samuel (Daily Mail)

Regional Sports Writer

Jon Colman (Cumbrian Newspapers)

Paul Fergusson (Sunday Life, Belfast)

Amanda Little (Cumbrian Newspapers)

Mark Taylor (Cambridge News)

Chris Wathan (Media Wales)

Richard Wilson (freelance)

SJA/BetVictor Sports Betting Writer

Chris Cook (The Guardian)

Ed Hawkins (The Times)

Simon Milham (freelance)

Steve Palmer (Racing Post)

Kevin Pullein (Racing Post)

Greg Wood (The Guardian)

Sports Cartoonist

Kerber and Black (Sunday Mirror)

Andy Davey (freelance)

Nick Newman (freelance)

Steve O’Brien (Mail on Sunday)

Internet Sports Writer

Matthew Christie (Boxing News)

Ben Dirs (BBC Sport)

Tom Fordyce (BBC Sport)

Nick Harris (

Patrick Kidd (The Times)