Media Awards: Scottish Press Awards, 2016

THE Daily Record newspaper has been named the Newspaper of the Year, at the Scottish Press Awards 2016, with the Journalism of the Year accolade going to Mark Macaskill, of The Sunday Times Scotland.

The event – run by the Scottish Newspaper Society – also saw former The Scottish Sun and Daily Record editor, Bruce Waddell, pick up the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The full list of winners reads, as follows:

Sports Photographer of the Year

Jeff Holmes
Featured in the Evening Times, Scotland on Sunday and The Sunday Times

News Photographer of the Year

Jeff Mitchell
Getty Images

Cartoonist of the Year

Steven Camley
The Herald

Young Journalist of the Year

Sarah Vesty
Daily Record

Weekly Newspaper of the Year

Fife Free Press

Arts/Entertainment Journalist of the Year

Matt Bendoris
The Scottish Sun

Interviewer of the Year

Patricia Kane
Scottish Mail on Sunday

Political Journalist of the Year

David Clegg
Daily Record

Columnist of the Year

Chris Deerin
Scottish Daily Mail

Financial/Business Journalist of the Year

Erikka Askeland
The Press and Journal

Feature Writer of the Year

Jonathan Brocklebank
Scottish Daily Mail

Sports Feature Writer of the Year

Hugh MacDonald
The Herald

Sports News Writer of the Year

Keith Jackson
Daily Record

Innovation of the Year

Merry Christmas Loyal Customer
Evening Telegraph

Front Page of the Year

Mince… by the Edinburgh Evening News

Journalism Team of the Year

The Scottish Sun for the M9 Police Call Centre Scandal

Campaign of the Year

Daily Record for the ‘Refugee Crisis and The War on Terror’ hashtag, We Have Room

Scoop of the Year

The Sunday Mail for The Forgotten Suspect, by Jim Wilson and Brendan McGinty

Reporter of the Year

Mark Macaskill
The Sunday Times Scotland

Lifetime Achievement Award

Bruce Waddell

Journalist of the Year

Mark Macaskill
The Sunday Times Scotland

Newspaper of the Year

Daily Record