Murray to host school magazines awards ceremony

WELL-known tennis coach, Judy Murray, has been lined up as the host of an awards competition celebrating the best of magazine writing and design within Scotland’s schools.

Pupils from 24 schools throughout Scotland have been shortlisted in the competition, the finals of which are taking place next Friday, in Edinburgh.

Run by the Scottish division of the Periodical Publishers Association, the awards ceremony will be also attended by Keith Brown MSP, Minister for Skills and Lifelong Learning in the Scottish Government.

The shortlisted schools are:

Banff Academy, Aberdeenshire

Bellahouston Academy, Glasgow

Boclair Academy, East Dunbartonshire

Brae High School, Shetland

Calderglen High School, South Lanarkshire

Castlebay Community School, Barra, Western Isles

Coatbridge High, North Lanarkshire

Cumbernauld High, North Lanarkshire

Dollar Academy, Clackmannanshire

Douglas Academy, East Dunbartonshire

Drumchapel High School, Glasgow City

Fernhill School, South Lanarkshire

Kilgraston School, Perth and Kinross

Musselburgh Grammar, East Lothian

Paible High School, North Uist, Western Isles

Paisley Grammar, Renfrewshire

Portlethen Academy, Aberdeenshire

Portobello High School, Edinburgh City

Robert Gordon’s College, Aberdeen City

St George’s School for Girls, Edinburgh City

St Margaret’s School, Edinburgh City

Stewart’s Melville College, Edinburgh City

Stirling High School, Stirling

Trinity High School, Renfrewshire