Media Awards: Scottish Press Awards

THE Sunday Mail has been named Newspaper of the Year at the Scottish Press Awards, which were held last night in Glasgow.

Also at the awards ceremony, the Sunday Herald’s Paul Hutcheon was named Journalist of the Year, with former Scottish Daily Mail editor, Chris Williams, awarded the Lifetime Achievement accolade.

This was the 35th Scottish Press Awards, which are organised by the Scottish Newspaper Society.

The winners’ list reads:

Sports Photographer of the Year

Winner: Ian MacNicol

Runner-up: Russell Cheyne

News Photographer of the Year

Winner: Alan Simpson

Runner-up: Robert Perry

Cartoonist of the Year

Winner: Brian Adcock, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday

Runner-up: Steven Camley, The Herald

Young Journalist of the Year

Winner: Anthony Joseph, Evening Express

Runner-up: Ben Riley-Smith, The Herald and Sunday Herald

Weekly Newspaper of the Year

Sponsored by National Express

Winner: Ayrshire Post

Runner-up: Highland News

Arts/Entertainment Journalist of the Year

Winner: Aidan Smith, The Scotsman

Runner-up: Neil Mackay, Sunday Herald

Interviewer of the Year

Winner: Patricia Kane, Scottish Mail on Sunday

Runner-up: Claire Black, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday

Political Journalist of the Year

Winner: Paul Hutcheon, Sunday Herald

Runner-up: Andrew Picken, The Sunday Post

Columnist of the Year

Winner: Bill Leckie, The Scottish Sun

Runner-up: Ian Bell, Sunday Herald

Financial/Business Journalist of the Year

Winner: Ryan Crighton, The Press & Journal

Runner-up: Steven Vass, Sunday Herald

Feature Writer of the Year

Winner: David Pratt, The Herald and Sunday Herald

Runner-up: Peter Ross, Scotland on Sunday

Sports Feature Writer of the Year

Winner: Tom English, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday

Runner-up: Susan Swarbrick, The Herald and Sunday Herald

Sports News Writer of the Year

Winner: Keith Jackson, Daily Record

Runner-up: David Ferguson, The Scotsman

Innovation of the Year

Winner: The Scotsman Rugby Show

Runner-up: Sunday Herald Life App

Front Page of the Year

Winner: The Scottish Sun, Nats Unveil Vision for a Free Scotland

Runner-up: The Courier, Andy Murray

Journalism Team of the Year

Winner: The Scottish Sun, Clutha

Runner-up: Edinburgh Evening News, Edinburgh’s Sex Trade

Campaign of the Year

Winner: Daily Record, Stop the Danger Dogs

Runner-up: Daily Record, Maisie Campaign

Scoop of the Year

Winner: Russell Findlay and Billy Briggs, Sunday Mail

Runner-up: Lauren Crooks and Tony Nicoletti, Sunday Mail

Reporter of the Year

Winner: Lauren Crooks, Sunday Mail

Runner-up: Gerry Braiden, The Herald

Lifetime Achievement Award

Chris Williams

Journalist of the Year

Winner: Paul Hutcheon, Sunday Herald

Newspaper of the Year

Winner: Sunday Mail