Media Awards: Scottish Press Awards, the winners

THE Daily Record has been named Newspaper of the Year at the Scottish Press Awards.

Also at the awards ceremony, held in Glasgow earlier this evening, Marion Scott – of the Record’s sister title, the Sunday Mail – was hailed as Journalist of the Year.

And this, the 36th edition of the competition, saw Drew Cochrane, former long-time editor of the Largs & Millport Weekly News, the recipient of a Lifetime Achievement accolade.

Pics: Jeff Holmes.

16/04/15 RADISSON BLU - GLASGOW 36th Scottish Press Awards. winnersThe winners list reads, as follows:

Sports Photographer of the Year

Stewart Attwood, Herald & Times Group

News Photographer of the Year

Jeff Mitchell, Getty Images

Cartoonist of the Year

Brian Petrie, The Scottish Sun

Young Journalist of the Year

Darren Hamilton, Evening Telegraph

awardsWeekly Newspaper of the Year

Fife Free Press

Arts/Entertainment Journalist of the Year

Brian Beacom, The Herald

Interviewer of the Year

Patricia Kane, Scottish Mail on Sunday

Political Journalist of the Year

David Clegg, Daily Record

Columnist of the Year

Chris Deerin, Scottish Daily Mail

Financial/Business Journalist of the Year

Erikka Askeland, The Press and Journal

awardsFeature Writer of the Year

Emma Cowing, Scottish Daily Mail

Sports Feature Writer of the Year

Aidan Smith, The Scotsman

Sports News Writer of the Year

Keith Jackson, Daily Record

Innovation of the Year

Scotland Now

Front Page of the Year

Daily Record and THE VOW

Journalism Team of the Year

Scottish Daily Mail

Campaign of the Year

Scottish Daily Mail on Armed Police

awardsScoop of the Year

Murray Foote, THE VOW for the Daily Record

Reporter of the Year

Marion Scott, Sunday Mail

Lifetime Achievement Award

Drew Cochrane

Journalist of the Year

Marion Scott, Sunday Mail

Chairman’s Award for Outstanding Achievement in 2014

Richard Walker, Sunday Herald

Newspaper of the Year

Daily Record

Pictured above: all the winners, Drew Cochrane, Marion Scott and Murray Foote (editor of the Daily Record).