Highly Commended Prizes for Adams and Elder at Regional Press Awards

Writers on two Scots newspapers have been both highly commended in awards recognising the best of the UK's regional press.

Lucy Adams, on The Herald, and Matthew Elder, on the Fife Free Press, received their runners-up prizes in the Feature Writer and Weekly Sports Journalist caegories of the Regional Press Awards.

Of the publishers, Northcliffe Media took nine awards, including five for the Hull Daily Mail.

Trinity Mirror came away with four awards, Johnston Press won three and Independent News and Media won one.

Columnist of the Year was 92 year-old Elaine Morgan, of the Western Mail. Said judges: “Elaine’s is a genuinely unique voice. Her columns are beautifully crafted and laced with wit, self-knowledge and wisdom.”

The winners of the four Newspaper of the Year awards and the Editor of the Year award are to be revealed later today.

The awards are organised by the Society of Editors, in conjunction with the Newspaper Society and the Journalists’ Charity. 

Winners and Highly Commended

Young Journalist

Winner: Emily Koch – Bristol Evening Post

Highly Commended: Dominic Howell – Nottingham Post

Business & Finance

Winner: Catherine Lea – Hull Daily Mail

Highly Commended: Robin Johnson – Derby Telegraph

Jon Griffin – Birmingham Mail

Specialist Writer

Winner: Nicky Harley – Hull Daily Mail

Highly Commended: Paul Gallagher – Manchester Evening News

Jon Austin – Basildon Echo

Feature Writer

Winner: Adam Wakelin – Leicester Mercury

Highly Commended: Lucy Adams – The Herald, Glasgow


Winner: Elaine Morgan – Western Mail

Highly Commended: Ian Midgley – Hull Daily Mail

Weekly Sports Journalist

Winner: Danny Hall – Sheffield Star’s, ‘Grassroots’

Highly Commended: Matthew Elder – Fife Free Press

Daily/Sunday Sports Journalist

Winner: John Gibson – Newcastle Evening Chronicle

Highly Commended: Steven Beacom – Belfast Telegraph

Simon Walter – Southern Daily Echo

Weekly Photographer

Winner: Sean Hansford – Rochdale Observer

Highly Commended: Stephen Garnett – Craven Herald

Daily/Sunday Photographer

Winner: Rowland Hobson – Peterborough Evening Telegraph

Highly Commended: Gary Longbottom – Yorkshire Post

Anthony Chappel-Ross – The Press, York

Weekly Reporter

Winner: Gareth Davies – Croydon Advertiser

Highly Commended: Lui Straccia – Luton on Sunday

Daily/Sunday Reporter of the Year

Winner: John McGurk – Sunday Life

Highly Commended: Bimpe Archer – Irish News


Winner: Ian Bond – Hull Daily Mail

Highly Commended: Sean Collins – The Journal, Newcastle

The Digital Award

Winner: www.pinkun.com – Norwich Evening News

Highly Commended: Manchester Evening News

Supplement of the Year

Winner: Yorkshire Post Magazine

Highly Commended: Weekend – Belfast Telegraph

Special Supplement of the Year

Winner: The Blitz – Hull Daily Mail

Highly Commended: Welsh Warriors – Wales on Sunday

Front Page

Winner: Is This How You Feel? – Western Mail

Highly Commended: The Night Fire Took The Lives of My Four Babies – Derby Telegraph


Winner: Nicky Harley – Hull Daily Mail

Highly Commended: Jon Austin – Basildon Echo


Winner: An Industry Betrayed – Derby Telegraph

Highly Commended: Missing From Home – Manchester Evening News